Bahujan Vikas Aghadi sweeps Vasai-Virar polls

Results for the Vasai-Virar municipal corporation were declared on Monday, a day after the civic body saw its first election on Sunday.

The corporation was formed on July 3, 2009. The Bahujan Vikas Aghadi (BVA) led by Hitendra Thakur retained its hold over the region by bagging 55 of the 89 wards, as per the figures given by the State Election Commission. Mr. Thakur, a former MLA is close to the Congress.

The Lokhitvadi Leader Party of Mr. Thakur’s political rival Vivek Pandit came a distant second by winning 19 seats.

Other Seats

The Bharatiya Janata Party bagged one seat, the Congress two, the Shiv Sena three, the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena one and the rest went to eight independents.

Total Tally

Five independents have vowed their allegiance to the BVA, taking the total tally of the party to 60.

The size of the Vasai-Virar electorate is 6,43,761 of which 42.79 per cent turned up to vote on Sunday. There were 378 candidates in the fray.


The region has been in the news for widespread protests against the government’s decision to include 53 villages in the corporation. The agitations to exclude the villages were led by Mr. Pandit.

With the final decision pending all the 53 villages also went to the polls.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s